Congressional Reformers caucus grows bipartisan membership to 32

Update, October 9th, 2018: Rep. Dave Loebsack (D-IA) and Rep. Jim Banks (R-IN) joined the Congressional Reformers Caucus bringing membership for the 115th Congress to 32. 

The Congressional Reformers Caucus, the first organization of its kind on Capitol Hill dedicated to political reform ideas and legislation, has grown its ranks to 30 Representatives of the 115th Congress — 15 Republicans and 15 Democrats. The Caucus aims to address the roots of dysfunction in Congress and the current political system and is co-chaired by two members from each party — Republican Reps. Ken Buck (CO) and Mike Gallagher (WI) and Democratic Reps. Kathleen Rice (NY) and Derek Kilmer (WA).

“As a millennial in Congress, I am committed to increasing transparency and accountability for the hard working Americans we represent,” said Rep. Elise Stefanik (R-NY). “I have been pleased to lead by example on these issues and am proud to join the Congressional Reformers Caucus where we can work together on bipartisan solutions to make our government more accountable to its citizens.”

“Congress has been largely incapable of providing the solutions which the American people need for years, and the Congressional Reformers Caucus wants to fix that,” said Rep. Don Beyer (D-VA). “I am particularly focused on changing the way we elect Representatives, and reforming our elections, as a way to help Congress become more responsive to the country’s problems. The people need progress, and I am hopeful that this bipartisan group will be able to deliver it.”

The members of the Congressional Reformers Caucus include:



Rep. Ken Buck (R-CO), Co-chair

Rep. Kathleen Rice (D-NY), Co-chair

Rep. Mike Gallagher (R-WI), Co-chair

Rep. Derek Kilmer (D-WA), Co-chair

Rep. Don Bacon (R-NE)

Rep. Don Beyer (D-VA)

Rep. Jack Bergman (R-MI)

Rep. Cheri Bustos (D-IL)

Rep. Andy Biggs (R-AZ)

Rep. Elizabeth Esty (D-CT)

Rep. Rod Blum (R-IA)

Rep. Ro Khanna (D-CA)

Rep. Dave Brat (R-VA)

Rep. Ron Kind (D-WI)

Rep. Mike Coffman (R-CO)

Rep. Seth Moulton (D-MA)

Rep. Rodney Davis (R-IL)

Rep. Stephanie Murphy (D-FL)

Rep. Jeff Fortenberry (R-NE)

Rep. Donald Norcross (D-NJ)

Rep. Matt Gaetz (R-FL)

Rep. Tom O’Halleran (D-AZ)

Rep. Leonard Lance (R-NJ)

Rep. Scott Peters (D-CA)

Rep. Ralph Norman (R-SC)

Rep. John Sarbanes (D-MD)

Rep. Elise Stefanik (R-NY)

Rep. Brad Schneider (D-IL)

 Rep. Claudia Tenney (R-NY)  Rep. Peter Welch (D-VT)


Members of Congress who are part of the Congressional Reformers Caucus have already shown their leadership on these issues by supporting bipartisan legislation to address the dysfunctional Federal Election Commission, combat the national security concerns around paid political advertising campaigns  and the potential of foreign money being spent in U.S. elections.