

October 31, 2019

Dear Senators:

Foreign interference in American elections is a national security emergency.

We are alarmed at the lack of meaningful Congressional action to secure our elections. The United States cannot afford to sit by as our adversaries exploit our vulnerabilities. Congress – especially the Senate – must enact a robust and bipartisan set of policies now.

China, Iran, Russia, and nonstate actors are utilizing every means possible to manipulate our elections and undermine the faith Americans have in our democracy. These efforts pose severe threats to our national security.

Serious gaps in our current laws allow foreign interference in many ways. However, there are several strong bipartisan bills being proposed to fix these flaws.

- To safeguard our voting machines, Senators Amy Klobuchar (D-MN) and James Lankford (R-OK) previously introduced the Secure Elections Act. According to the Senate Intelligence Committee, foreign hackers attempted to hack election systems in all 50 states during the 2016 election cycle.¹ The Secure Elections Act seeks to bolster our voting systems while reaffirming each state's role in administering federal elections.
- To expose online disinformation campaigns perpetrated by China, Iran, Russia, and others, Senators Lindsey Graham (R-SC), Amy Klobuchar (D-MN), and Mark Warner (D-VA) introduced the Honest Ads Act. Between 2015 and 2017, Facebook ads paid for by foreign agents reach at least 11.4 million Americans.² The Honest Ads Act helps protect against hidden, foreign propaganda efforts online.
- To shine a light on foreign lobbying, Senators Dianne Feinstein (D-CA) and Chuck Grassley (R-IA) introduced the Foreign Agents Disclosure and Registration Enhancement Act. Currently, lobbyists can collect millions of dollars from foreign governments and entities while evading the necessary disclosure requirements due to weak laws and inadequate enforcement. The Foreign Agents Disclosure and Registration Enhancement Act would modernize and enforce lobbying laws on the books and impose meaningful penalties for rulebreakers.
- To clamp down on foreign money flooding the political process, Senators Chuck Grassley (R-IA) and Sheldon Whitehouse (D-RI) previously introduced the Shell Company Abuse Act. Foreign donors who

² https://www.intelligence.senate.gov/sites/default/files/documents/os-cstretch-110117.pdf



¹ https://www.nytimes.com/2019/07/25/us/politics/russian-hacking-elections.html



A PROJECT OF 1550E ONE

wish to remain anonymous can use limited liability companies (LLCs) as vehicles to funnel money into political groups, or they can contribute directly to "dark money" groups which are not required to disclose their donors. The Shell Company Abuse Act would ensure foreign actors cannot hide behind our tax laws to subvert our elections.

► To send a strong message to foreign foes, Senators Amy Klobuchar (D-MN) and Marco Rubio (R-FL) introduced the **Defending Elections from Threats by Establishing Redlines (DETER) Act**. The entire intelligence community agrees that China, Iran, Russia, and other foreign actors interfered in recent elections. Their efforts will intensify if we do nothing to fight back. The DETER Act would maintain peace through strength by imposing sanctions on countries that interfere in American elections.

In addition to action on these five important bills, Congress should ensure that states and counties have the additional financial support they need to address election vulnerabilities, coupled with minimum standards and requirements to ensure election security and verifiability.

The Senate has an historic opportunity and a critical imperative to take action to defend our national security. As our nation faces attacks by foreign adversaries on several fronts, we encourage you to work in a bipartisan manner to pursue these solutions. Unity in times of national crisis has long been a hallmark of American government. The current crisis is no exception.

Sincerely,

Rep. Jason Altmire (D-PA) Rep. Brian Baird (D-WA) Rep. Mike Barnes (D-MD) Rep. Gresham Barrett (R-SC) Rep. Charlie Bass (R-NH) Rep. Berkley Bedell (D-IA) Sen. Mark Begich (D-AK) Rep. Doug Bereuter (R-NE) Rep. Don Bonker (D-WA) Sec. Bill Brock (R-TN) Rep. Jack Buechner (R-MO) Rep. Russ Carnahan (D-MO) Rep. M. Robert Carr (D-MI) Gov. Mike Castle (D-DE) Rep. Ben Chandler (D-KY) Rep. Rod Chandler (R-WA) Rep. Bob Clement (D-TN) Rep. Bill Clinger (R-PA) Rep. Sam Coppersmith (D-AK) Rep. Jerry Costello (D-IL) Rep. Lincoln Davis (D-TN) Sen. Chris Dodd (D-CT) Sen. Byron Dorgan (D-ND) Rep. Dave Emery (R-ME) Rep. Vic Fazio (D-CA) Sen. Russ Feingold (D-WI) Rep. Harold Ford Jr. (D-TN) Amb. Wyche Fowler (D-GA) Rep. Dick Gephardt (D-MO) Rep. Jim Gerlach (R-PA)





Rep. Wayne Gilchrest (R-MD) Rep. Phil Gingrey (R-GA) Sec. Dan Glickman (D-KS) Rep. Gene Green (D-TX) Rep. James Greenwood (R-PA) Sec. Chuck Hagel (R-NE) Rep. Lee Hamilton (D-IN) Rep. Richard Hanna (R-NY) Sen. Gary Hart (D-CO) Rep. Dennis Hertel (D-MI) Rep. Elizabeth Holtzman (D-NY) Amb. William Hughes (D-NJ) Rep. Bob Inglis (R-SC) Rep. Steve Israel (D-NY) Gov. Tom Kean (R-NJ) Gov. Bob Kerrey (D-NE) Rep. Ronald Klein (D-FL) Rep. Jim Kolbe (R-AZ) Rep. Mike Kopetski (D-OR) Rep. Steve Kuykendall (R-CA) Sec. Ray LaHood (R-IL) Rep. Martin Lancaster (D-NC) Rep. Larry LaRocco (D-ID) Rep. Sandy Levin (D-MI) Rep. Mel Levine (D-CA) Adm. James Lov Rep. Andrew Maguire (D-NJ) Rep. Marjorie Margolies (D-PA) Rep. Pete McCloskey (D-CA) Rep. Matthew McHugh (D-NY) Gov. John McKernan (R-ME) Rep. Tom McMillen (D-MD) Amb. Constance Morella (R-MD)

Rep. Patrick Murphy (D-FL) Rep. Patrick Murphy (D-PA) Rep. Sue Myrick (R-NC) Rep. Glenn Nye (D-VA) Sec. Leon Panetta (D-CA) Rep. Tim Petri (R-WI) Rep. Todd Platts (R-PA) Sen. Larry Pressler (I-SD) Rep. Deborah Pryce (R-OH) Sec. Tom Ridge (R-PA) Gov. Bill Ritter (D-CO) Amb. Tim Roemer (D-IN) Gov. Roy Romer (D-CO) Sec. Ed Schafer (R-ND) Rep. Claudine Schneider (R-RI) Rep. Patricia Schroeder (D-CO) Rep. John Schwarz (R-MI) Rep. Chris Shays (R-CT) Rep. Karen Shepherd (D-UT) Sen. Al Simpson (R-WY) Rep. David Skaggs (D-CO) Rep. Peter Smith (R-VT) Sen. Olympia Snowe (R-ME) Rep. Charlie Stenholm (D-TX) Amb. Richard Swett (D-NH) Rep. Robin Tallon (D-SC) Rep. John Tanner (D-TN) Rep. Lee Terry (R-NE) Sen. Mark Udall (D-CO) Rep. Zach Wamp (R-TN) Gov. Christine Whitman (R-NJ) Sen. Tim Wirth (D-CO)

Updated: November 8, 2019

